It's Roshan nite at Screen Videocon Awards

Published On: 2013-01-06

Author: unknown

Media Link:

It's Roshan nite at Screen Videocon Awards 
By: A Mid Day Correspondent 

Date: January 23, 2001


It was Hrithik Roshan all the way at the seventh Screen Videcon Awards, with Kaho Na Pyaar Hai grabbing eight awards, including Best Actor and Most promising debut for Roshan baba. Aside from this, the Roshan family was also honoured for its contribution to Bollywood. Tabu won a deserving Best Actress award for her sensitve portrayal of a middle-class woman caught in a man's world in Astitva. A surprise winner was Most Promising Debut for Shilpa Navalkar for her role in Amol Palekar's critically acclaimed Kairee. 


The ceremony got off to a terriffic start on Saturday evening with a classical dance perfomance by actress Meenakshi Sheshadri. Singer Adnan Sami then took the stage to mesmerise the audience with his lilting melodies. There were also performances by the young Mohabbatein team, Urmila Matondkar, Akshay Kumar (shouldn't he be on his honeymoon), Aishwarya Rai, among others. Pran was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, while Dev Anand and Yash Chopra were presented with special awards for their contribution to Indian cinema. Lata Mangeshkar was the recepient of the first Noor Jahan award. 


The final tally stood something like this: Main Awards 

Best Film - Kaho Na Pyaar Hai 

Best Director - Rakesh Roshan (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Best Actor - Hrithik Roshan (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Best Actress - Tabu (Astitva) 

Best Supporting Actor - Sanjay Dutt (Mission Kashmir) 

Best Supporting Actress - Sonali Bendre (Hamara Dil Aapke Paas Hain) 

Best Performance in a villanous role - Rajpal Yadav (Jungle) 

Best Performance in a Comic role - Paresh Rawal (Hera Pheri) 

Most Promising Debut Hrithik Roshan (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) and Shilpa Navalkar (Kairee)

 Lifetime Achievement Award Pran Special Award Dev Anand and Yash Chopra for their contribution to cinema. 

Film Music Noor Jahan Award - Lata Mangeshkar 

Best Music Director - Rajesh Roshan (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Best Female Playback singer - Alka Yagnik 'Panchi Nadiyan...' (Refugee) 

Best Male Playback singer - Lucky Ali 'Ek Pal...' (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Technical Awards Special Jury Award - Mahesh Manjrekar (Astitva, Nidaan) 
Best Screenplay - Neeraj Vohra (Hera Pheri) 

Best Dialogue - Neeraj Vohra (Hera Pheri) 

Best Background score - Ilayaraja (Hey! Ram) 

Best Action Director - Alam Amin (Mission Kashmir) 

Best Art Director - Nitin Desai (Josh) 

Best Story - Mahesh Manjrekar (Astitva) 

Best Lyrics - Anand Bakshi 'Humko Humi se...' (Mohabbatein) 
Best Choreographer - Farah Khan for 'Ek Pal...' (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Best Editing - Sanjay Varma (Kaho Na Pyaar Hai) 

Best Sound Recording - Manoj Sikka and team (Mission Kashmir) 

Best Cinematography - Binod Pradhan (Mission Kashmir) 

Best Special Effects - Raju Chacha 

Best Publicity Design - Himanshu Nanda and Rahul Nanda (Dhadkan, Mission Kashmir, Pukar and Jungle) 


Television Awards Best Family Entertainer - Kadam: Breast Cancer 

Best Comedy series - Office Office Best Thriller series - Govind aur Ganesh Best General Entertainment - Kaun Banega Crorepati 

Best Actor - Pankaj Kapoor (Office Office) 

Best Actress - Reena Wadhwa (Aatish) 

Best Anchor - Amitabh Bachchan 


Non-Film Music Best non-film album - Kaash by Hariharan 

Best pop album - Tanha Dil by Shaan 

Best Male singer - Hariharan (Kaash) 

Best Female singer - Alka Yagnik (Dil to Hai) 

Best Video - Man ke Manjire (Virgin Records) 

Marathi Films Best Film - Mrugjal 

Best Director - Mahesh Kothare (Katharnak) 

Best Actor - Tushar Dalvi (Mrugjal) 

Best actress - Mrinal Kulkarni (Jodidar)